Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? Here’s Why Our Experts Say No!

Our editors research and review only the best products we trust. We may receive a commission on some (but not all) links associated with our content. As an Amazon Associate, ClassyReviewed earns from qualifying purchases.

Sour Patch Kids appear to be the ideal treat for a vegan at first glance. The sweet and sour candy does not appear to contain any animal ingredients. The issue is that they may not contain gelatin, but they are frequently made with questionable components. We’ll go over the ingredients in Sour Patch Kids in detail.

Sour Patch Kids: The True Ingredients

Most people consider a Sour Patch Kid a treat if they’ve never tried one. It’s a sugar-coated gummy bear. They have a tart and sweet flavor. Since the 1980s, the multicolored “kids” have been around. Many people claim that Sour Patch Kids are vegan, but others argue that you should look into it further. These tiny candies are made up of a variety of components. They do contain sugars derived from plants. Modified corn starch, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Red 40, tartaric acid, citric acid, and other artificial tastes are among the ingredients. Although the label appears to be vegan-friendly, it may be deceiving.

It’s possible that the sugar in Sour Patch Kids isn’t vegan-friendly.

Sugar is produced from either sugar beets or sugarcane. Both of these methods of sugar production are sourced from nature. Even if the taste and texture are similar, the refining procedure varies. A diffuser is used to extract the sugar from the beets. To crystallize the sugar, this fluid is combined with additives. Bone char is used to treat, cleanse, and filter cane sugar. Even if it isn’t made directly from animals, vegans will accept it. Many people believe that beet sugar can be used in place of cane sugar. When it comes to cooking, the two forms of sugar are vastly different. Unless you do your homework, determining which sugar is optimal for which sweet treat is difficult.

What Is Bone Char, Exactly?

Bone char is responsible for sugar’s pure white color. Carbon is another name for it. Cattle bones are used to make bone char. It’s typically created in another country and then sold to traders. It’s manufactured by converting animal bones to carbon after heating them to high temperatures. Bone char particles aren’t generally found in your sugar.

For vegans, bone char can be even more perplexing. Although bone char is used to filter and convert cane sugar white, it is not utilized to refine all cane sugar. Granular carbon is used by several industries to filter their cane sugar. Animal products are not used to make granular carbon. The problem is that you won’t find a description of how your candy’s cane sugar was filtered on the side of the package.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan Friendly?

Because many industries employ both beet and cane sugar, it’s difficult to track the sugars back to their source. The business that owns Sour Patch Kids, Mondelez International, does acknowledge that its suppliers use bone char. There is no definitive answer as to whether the specific bag of Sour Patch Kids you buy is vegan. It all depends on how rigid you are about being a vegan. You would consider these sweet delights non-vegan friendly if you disagree with any of the methods stated below.

Animal Products Ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Could Be Controversial

Other components in Sour Patch Kids raise a red signal for most vegans, including the utilization of bone char to manufacture white sugar. If you’re new to the vegan lifestyle, there are a few ingredients to consider before consuming daily products.

When skimming through the ingredients in their desserts, vegans are looking for gelatin. Many various lollipops, jellies, marshmallows, and puddings include it. This is what gives the gooey snacks their consistency and helps them stick together. The issue is that gelatain is prepared by boiling animal parts. The product is made from the skin, bones, tendons, and ligaments of cows and pigs that have been cooked.

Although gelatin is not mentioned as an ingredient in Sour Patch Kids, some people believe there must be some in the candy. This is due to the lack of a gelling agent in the components. Pectin or agar agar are the most common options. Some firms say that Sour Patch Kids include a trace amount of gelatin. Although a gel agent isn’t stated in the ingredients, corn syrup and corn starch may be used to give these candies their gooey texture. Companies employ different bonding agents instead of gelatin to hold the materials together.

Another factor to consider when it comes to these ingredients is that different companies in different countries may make Sour Patch Kids in different ways. Gelatin is listed as an ingredient on the Sour Patch candy in the United Kingdom. The country in which your candy is made can have a significant impact.

Artificial Colors And Flavors In Sour Patch Kids

Artificial colors and flavors are sometimes created in laboratories and tested on animals. The majority of vegans are adamantly opposed to animal cruelty. Red dye, for example, is manufactured by crushing cochineal bugs into a powder and combining them with water. This sort of dye is frequently utilized in the food business, and it may be found in a variety of candies and yogurts. Camine or carminic acid are the most common names for it. This does not imply that all colors are created in this manner. Many artificial colors are tested on animals, which is an issue.

Red 40, Yellow 5 and 6, and Blue 1 are artificial colors made from petroleum, which is frequently tested on animals. The majority of dyes are fed to animal test subjects in order to monitor any potential health risks. Tumors may appear as a result of these health conditions. After testing products, if the animal does not die from the adverse effects of the testing, it is usually killed. Allura red has been demonstrated to be neurotoxic in animal tests.

Some vegans are unconcerned about animal testing. Many vegans don’t think twice about eating products with artificial colors or tastes. Other vegans are adamant about not eating or using anything that has been tested on animals.

Conclusion: In our opinion, Sour Patch Kids are not vegan.

Finally, because of its sugar content, Sour Patch Kids cannot be considered vegan. Even if it wasn’t all of the sugar, bone char was used to filter part of it. Some of the ingredients aren’t vegan-friendly as well. The artificial colors and flavors are created through extensive animal research. Mice, dogs, and rats are just a few of the animals that undergo routine testing. Artificial colors like Red #40 are frequently evaluated to verify that they do not cause health problems in people when consumed. It’s also true that avoiding all of these elements is difficult. The majority of these components may be found in sweet candies. It will be difficult to discover organic alternatives to the taste of a sweet and sour candy.

The problem is that replacements that taste just like sweets are difficult to come across. Candy is sweet because it is flavored with all of these flavoring elements. Strict vegans tend to avoid anything manufactured in this manner.

You can draw your own conclusions, but we can only provide you with the facts we have on Sour Patch Kids. The most important thing to remember is that you should always look into the components list further. Just because a confectionery says it doesn’t contain any animal products doesn’t imply it doesn’t contain animal by-products or hasn’t been tested.

Our Recommendation

Instead of consuming sweets, which may be harmful to your general health and well-being, try a healthy gummy that can help you lose weight, increase your energy, and provide critical vitamins in your daily diet.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Classy Reviewed
      Logo